Tuesday, May 6, 2014

James Freud - China Crimes (unreleased Gary Numan-produced LP)

It's high time this album got listened to by all the James Freud fans out there!

I found this link which contains the LP, remastered to digital some 8-10 years ago. I do notice that the track-names are incorrect, and that they've taken an image off the 80sdreamer website to put the cd together - cute!

Now your mileage may vary, but here is the track-list as I believe it to be -

1. China Crimes (also the name of the LP)
2. Head in Hand
3. Receiving me
4. Rooms to Rent
5. Central
6. Over my Head
7. Search and Rescue
8. Suspicious of the Night
9. Automatic Crazy

(you'll see when you open the archive that whoever put it together just guesses the names of the tracks based on the repeated chorus. In most cases, that assumption is correct, but many of these tracks were performed live in 1980 PRIOR to James Freud going to the UK with Gary Numan to record the LP)

According to Inner City Sound (who has live recordings of both gigs - one of which was uploaded here in years past), the track-names are as reported on the set-list.

Anyway, for your listening pleasure, please enjoy - CHINA CRIMES, the unreleased (some call 'demo') LP recorded in late 1980 and early 1981 -

Download link

ps: be REALLY careful to close any pop-ups that appear, and only click on the green box that says 'download'. All the other links are fake.